RSS

South Easter: 1 – Bedroom Window: 0

16 Feb

I remember the day when I had moved to Cape Town’s CBD. Here I was, in a flat that was supposed to become my home. Since I did not have any money, my flat was quite scarcely decorated. I had a bed, a desk, a single bed which had to serve as a couch, a coffee table, a stove, a fridge and two cabinets. Despite the ‘minimalist’ interior, I was as happy as pig in shit. Until that dreadful South Easter came up. I honestly thought I was going to die. “What if the flipping wind blows in the window? Then I will be sliced Biltong”, I kept thinking. Nothing happened that night, or the 6 x 365 nights that followed.

Until today.

I was lying on my bed (I had a headache and needed a breather), when all of a sudden I heard glass. Lots of glass. Lots and lots and LOTS of of glass. Very very very close  by. My heart and brain briefly switched places.

To keep a long story short: if it were not for the bamboo roller curtains, which kept the glass away from me, this blog post, would never have been written.

 

PS: My flat now officially looks like a crack house. Great.

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on February 16, 2011 in The World of Mir

 

2 responses to “South Easter: 1 – Bedroom Window: 0

  1. Eric Parsons

    February 17, 2011 at 3:49 pm

    Sure there wasn’t a Valentines card there somewhere?

     
    • Miriam Mannak

      February 17, 2011 at 3:51 pm

      A V-day card? Er? Not that I know of 🙂

       

Leave a Reply

 
