RSS

Dutchie versus Digi “buncha thieves” Cape

05 Mar

Digicape employee (Gardens, Cape Town, South Africa): “Yes, like you said the problem is the power supply of your G5 iMac. It is broken, like you told us, and it indeed needs to be replaced – which you also said. We cannot do this for you – the machine is too old. It is a G5 after all. That will be R495 please.”

Me:”Err, whát?”

Digicape: “That will be R495 please”.

Me: “But you didn’t do anything! I first of all told you it was the power supply and that it needed to be replaced. Now you tell me that you took in my machine while knowing it was too old and you could not fix it! You are Mac technicians, right? One look at my Mac was sufficient to figure out it was a G5. That is daylight robbery!”

Digicape: “We understand the points you are raising and we are sorry. However, in order to make sure that we knew what was wrong with the machine, we had to run all sorts of hardware tests. These tests normally run for four hours, but we charged you 1 hour – a bargain really.”

Friend Louis (who happens to be a technician and standing by my side): “If a computer’s power supply is broken, there is no way in hell you could have ran hard ware tests. Not for 4 hours, not for 19 minutes, not for 2 seconds. because if the power supply is broken, you can’t start the computer. You need electricity for that. I know my stuff. I am a technician myself.”

Digicape: “Err, err, but ja well nee ag sorry. You will still have to pay.”

Me: “Mutter mutter mutter – curse curse – grumble grumble”

* Awkward silence, during which Digicape employee and I look at each other with very suspicious kill-murder-death eyes*

Me: “I guess I will have to pay you, but mark my words: I will never ever come back. Yes, you have lost a customer. At least one.”

> LOOKING FOR SOMEONE TO REPAIR MY MAC. <

PLEASE LET ME KNOW IF YOU KNOW OF SOMEONE!!

 
7 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2011 in Stuff that Pisses Me Off

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

7 responses to “Dutchie versus Digi “buncha thieves” Cape

  1. lynne

    March 5, 2011 at 10:21 am

    dont think you should have paid them!

     
    • Miriam Mannak

      March 6, 2011 at 10:28 am

      Me neither, but I needed my machine back and there was no way in hell they would have given me my iMac back. Catch 22, really.

       
  2. Michael Baker

    March 7, 2011 at 2:59 pm

    Jacques has a repair shop and he is accredited by Apple. Give him a call on 0837842035

     
    • Miriam Mannak

      March 7, 2011 at 3:01 pm

      Thanks Michael! Will give him a call now now. Where is he based?

       
      • Michael Baker

        March 11, 2011 at 1:42 pm

        He is out in Milnerton unfortunately

         
      • Miriam Mannak

        March 11, 2011 at 1:43 pm

        Thanks anyways. I have scooter and no idea how to get it to him. But will keep him in mind if everything else fails

         
    • Fred

      March 22, 2012 at 1:02 pm

      There are two accredited service centers in Cape Town, Jacques is not one of them !!

       

Leave a Reply

 
