RSS

Where has 2011 gone to? Who stole it?

20 Oct


It seems Nature's Valley happened yesterday! Copyright: Miriam Mannak

It is October – the end of October, nogal – and I am rather dazed and confused. Can someone please tell me where 2011 has gone to? What happened to this year? Where is it? What happened? Has anyone seen it? Did someone steal it? I mean reall! It seems like flippin’ yesterday when friends picked me up to spend ten days in Natures Valley, my favourite place on South Africa’s Garden Route. This was just three days after Christmas. And now, *CrashBoomBang*, it is the end of October! Just like that. WTF!

When I was a Little Tiny Mir, years used to take forever and ever and ever. Hours seemed days and days seemed weeks. “Are we there yet?” and “How long before we are there” and “How many days until …” were my favourite questions. Yes, basically started asking questions from the moment I could speak. I guess I born to become a journalist 🙂

Anyway, I have no clue what has changed overtime, but in this stage of my life it seems to be the other way around. Time really flies at Concorde speed these days – and it is not even because I’m having fun al the time!

It probably has to do with the fact that work-wise, I have never ever been this busy since I started freelancing in 2007. The bulk of my work is for Business Live, but I am also quite busy for various Cape Media publications such as Black Business Quarterly, Leadership, Energy Forecast and The Project Manager. Other clients include Radio Netherlands World Wide (Africa) and of course Het Financieele Dagblad.

And there is always the odd-job and ad-hoc assignment that pops up. Private Life (FNB’s in-house publication) contacted me the other day, wanting me to write a story about the South African boating industry. A few months ago, I received an email from a someone working for UNICEF in Haiti. She needed a report written based on her findings, but she had no time or energy to do it. This week, someone emailed me on behalf of the Southern African Aids Trust. Whether I wanted – together with other journalists – to write a book about the role of communities in international, national and regional decision-making. Of course I said yes.

In the meantime, I am working on my Granddad’s book, about his years in Nazi Germany as a forced labourer. Going through his letters and translating them is rather time-consuming – but so worth it.

Hmm. Looking at the above, I guess I have the answer to my question “What happened to 2011?”

My work ate it.

PS: Are you a freelance media professional, or contemplating going freelance? Why not joining the Southern African Freelancers’ Association. Comprising hundreds of freelancers across the continent (mainly South Africa though), SAFREA has helped me a great deal over the past few years with burning questions like “what do I charge for this and that assignment?”, “What are the going rates for freelance writing?”, ” Can anyone help me with this and that”. There is always a SAFREAN who has an answer or solution to your problem. SFAREA has landed me work (members tend to pass on work they can’t do to other members) too, but the main reason why I am a member is that the Association is providing me with a solid network of peers that support, help and respect you when you really need it.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on October 20, 2011 in Tales of a Freelance Journo, The World of Mir

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “Where has 2011 gone to? Who stole it?

  1. Mark Goodwin

    October 20, 2011 at 4:24 pm

    Nice post Mir. And now for the bad news….if you think time goes quick at your age, ‘you wait until you go over the hill’ and the worst thing about that is that you don’t particularly have to be busy, the bloody time still flashes past like jet train. On the other hand, I’m please to hear that you are busy.
    BTW I have just discovered DOH! How to include favourite bloggers on my Blogroll on my blog. So you will find yourself there should you choose to check, with no obligation to reciprocate of course.

    As I spent the last 20 odd years as a Management & Training Consultant, I am now off to check on Business Live. Although I must say I am finally beginning to find Business boring, and am glad I have the time to spend on my Wildlife photography..

    BFN

     
    • Miriam Mannak

      October 21, 2011 at 11:09 am

      Howzit Mark, Thanks for the comment. So it will only get worse from now on? Oh crap.
      How does one add favourite blogs onto one’s blog roll? That sounds pwitty nifty!
      How are things your side? Great image you posted recently! I do love birds of prey!

       
  2. Mark Goodwin

    October 22, 2011 at 12:28 am

    Hi Mir, don’t worry young-un you have a long, long way to go before it speeds up. 🙂

    OK here’s how to add a Blogroll. I found out through the help/support on WordPress very easy to understand.

    Go to Dashboard> Links> Add New Link. A screen will come up showing two boxes, in the first box type the name of the blog i.e. FRED’S PICTURE BLOG. Then under that box is another box where you type or paste the web address of the blog i.e. http://fredspictureblog.com. And it should magically appear in your Blogroll, mine did!!
    Don’t work too hard and hope you are making good contact with your significant other.

    Warm wishes

     
    • Miriam Mannak

      October 22, 2011 at 8:46 am

      I have added you 🙂 Thanks for the explanation !All good this side – tired as hell as I did not sleep well. Oh well, maybe I’ll do better this evening. Have a good weekend, both of you!

       

Leave a Reply

 
