RSS

Freelance Life: Different Shit, Different Day

18 Jan

I seriously hope this week will end better than it started. Feeling seriously under the emotional weather at the moment, and it sucks ass. I have gazillions of deadlines waiting to be slain, but I can’t seem to get myself to do the job. Fuck.

First of all, I am having some serious difficulties adjusting to the fact that Significant Other and I are on separate continents again. I thought I had gotten to this scenario by now, but hey – I guess I was wrong. So much gets lost in translation when you are miles apart, despite all the forms of technolog, and you (well, me) face the risk of misinterpreting each other’s messages. Which leads to arguments / feeling of insecurity /  rubbing each up other the wrong way / etc.

Not cool. I know he is stressed with / at work, and sometimes this results in him not being able to be present as much as I would like to. It is just difficult not to have all the pieces of information, because even with Skype and BBM lots gets lost in translation. Then, sometimes, a little voice wonders whether he has actually given up, and wants to stay in Australia without wanting to tell me. Why? Because something has changed in the air, and I can’t pinpoint what.

Then I am not sure how long I can do this freelancing business. Chasing news, chasing stories, chasing payment, chasing clients … waiting for payment, waiting for clients to respond, waiting for feedback …. It is really getting to me today.

And then there is the omnipresent fear of clients ditching your ass or not paying you for the work you’ve done. Last year, I did a job for a large South African NGO. It involved co-writing a book. They have postponed first half of the payment until Feb 3 while their writers (me included) were supposed to get the first payment in December last year. It is the last thing I need at the moment, as my Australia trip pretty much chewed up my budget for this month … Australia is expensive, especially if you live off rands. The average glass of wine in a bar or restaurant (and we are talking the cheapest shit on the list) sets you back R70 easily.

So yeah, I need that money and I need it now – especially because other clients have “forgotten” to pay me last month.

I seriously hate this part of freelancing. I know there are many advantages, but Jeepers …. At least with a fulltime job you know when the paycheck comes usually).

Of course the fact my mom was diagnosed with breast cancer has been a bit of a bitch too. And that is an understatement. Luckily it seems all could have been much worse: they have removed the entire tumour, the cancer has not spread and she won’t be needing  chemo / hormone treatment (“just” 21 radiation sessions). Nevertheless this whole cancer thing has put a lot of things in but also out of perspective.

Anyway – just on the moment supreme a dear friend (Thanks Dirk) called me and another invited me for a glass of wine (Thanks Lesley-Ann). This means I am calling it a day.

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 18, 2012 in Tales of a Freelance Journo, The World of Mir

 

Tags: , , ,

3 responses to “Freelance Life: Different Shit, Different Day

  1. Mark Goodwin

    January 23, 2012 at 5:54 pm

    So sorry to hear you having a rough time Mir. I have just got off the phone to Jozif my Number 2 son – the music producer/DJ – and he is having probs with his girlfriend because he is away so much. I feel sorry for her coz she loves him dearly and, obviously wants him near. But the more successful he becomes, the more he is gonna be away. But ain’t that life?
    I can still remember well, back in the day being away from my girlfriend (now wife). I would get back from a 3 month tour of America and the next day she would leave to go to Holland for a TV show! When she got back from Holland I was already gone to Australia!! But, here we are 40 years later and thank God we are still here.

    As I have mentioned before, I have been self employed most of my working life. Ok, I know it’s tough chasing money and seeking new clients etc but hey! It beats working for a living!!!
    There is an old saying, “If you wanna make a lot of money, you will never do it working for someone else, only they will”.

    Keep you chin up kiddo, tomorrow is another day, and so glad to hear that your Mum is over the worst.

    Best wishes

     
  2. Adrian Galley

    January 23, 2012 at 6:04 pm

    Oh, Miriam. I’m so sorry to read of all your troubles. I wish your mom all the strength she needs for her recovery. And as for the bastards that can’t cough-up for the work you deliver? F**** ’em, they don’t deserve you.
    Much love …

     
  3. flacklist

    May 8, 2012 at 10:59 pm

    Reblogged this on flacklist.

     

Leave a Reply

 
