RSS

My Last Cape-Argus-Cycle-Race-Virgin Days

05 Mar

Me surviving Chapman's Peak drive (trust me, it is steep where I came from!)

NINETY KILOMETERS PEOPLE! That is the distance I cycled yesterday, as part of my Cape Argus Cycle Race training. NINETY KILOMETERS! Over mountains and shit, from Cape Town’s city center all the way to Kommetjie and back – over Chapman’s Peak and through Noordhoek. Excluding four stops – one when Cycle Buddy Illie fell, one for a much-needed caffeine injection, one in Kommetjie, and a final loo break – we did it in 4 hours and 27 minutes. Yay! Click here for the link to our route 🙂

I must say that I am rather proud of myself, but also equally tired. But the legs are fine, and so are the shoulders, back, neck and ass. The only thing that feels a bit ‘funny’ is my left pinky *raises eyebrow*. It feels numb-ish.

Anyway, I think I am ready for the race >>> BRING IT ON!

 
4 Comments

Posted by on March 5, 2012 in The World of Mir

 

Tags: , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

4 responses to “My Last Cape-Argus-Cycle-Race-Virgin Days

  1. Riyaaz Ismail

    March 5, 2012 at 10:17 am

    Awesome,do enjoy your Argus as a novice.Have done 11 already and really depending on institutional musclwe memory to get me through this one.Have been running for training though.10KM at a stretch.Have cerebral palsy(spastic diaplegia) Only have control of 70 percent of my left side of my body,so braking with my left hand becomes a bit of a challenge,but who cares!Just for the thrill of it!

    Good luck and cycle safely.Remember to keep your line at ALL times.It is the biggest individually timed cycle event in the world.

     
    • Miriam Mannak

      March 5, 2012 at 10:21 am

      Thank you for your comment Riyaaz! 11 times! Jeepers! You are a real pro! When do you start? How long does it take you? Has the Cerebral palsy become worse over time, and how do you manage it? Does the exercise help? So sorry for all the questions, but rather hyped up at the moment 🙂 Good luck to you too! 🙂

       
  2. Mark Goodwin

    March 6, 2012 at 2:22 am

    Way to go girl!! (I’m sure she’s gone nuts…90 Kilometres?…I haven’t cycled that far in my whole life)!!!

    :-0)

     

Leave a Reply

 
